4WD trans in 2WD truck

How they work, how they don't work, and how to fix them

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

4WD trans in 2WD truck

Postby justin.loehlein » Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:16 pm

I have a '90 D250 with an auto in it right now and am planning on replacing it with a manual trans. I have two transmissions to choose from - a Getrag from my W350 and a 4x4 G56 from a 6.7L truck. I'd like to put the G56 in my W350 since that is my "nice" truck and put the Getrag in the D250. I know it's a pain/not cost-effective to convert the Getrag to 2WD specs, but is there any reason a 29-spline slip yoke or u-joint carrier couldn't be used with the Getrag and just have a proper driveshaft made? Forgive my ignorance - I'm new to 4WD stuff.
1990 D250, 5 speed
1993 W350 waiting to be restored
justin.loehlein
fuel screw!!!!

Re: 4WD trans in 2WD truck

Postby Philip » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:16 am

The 4x4 trans has no way of securing a drive flange to it. It does not have a threaded end on the shaft.

The G56 into the 2WD is a problem. The stock cross member can't be used. The is not enough room in the tunnel for the G56 and the straight cross member the 2WD uses. You would need a $X$ cross member to us the G56. The $X$ cross member will make you loose 4" of ground clearance.

A 4x4 G56 and a 2wd G56 are the same. The only difference is a bolt on drive flange and rear seal in the trans.
93 W350 Club/cab w/duals, buckets & console, B&W flatbed, G56, 6 spd, 3:07 rears, gages, HX40/16, 4" exhaust, 6X.018 sticks, rear air ride suspension
Philip
14mm rotor

Postby justin.loehlein » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:10 am

Thanks for the info, Philip. Any reason a slip yoke can't just be placed on the 4x4 trans output shaft?
1990 D250, 5 speed
justin.loehlein
fuel screw!!!!

Postby Philip » Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:51 am

justin.loehlein wrote:Thanks for the info, Philip. Any reason a slip yoke can't just be placed on the 4x4 trans output shaft?